top of page
Search
  • ridereli

Technology in Society (Part 2)

Updated: Dec 7, 2018

According to some, the use of technology on a day to day basis has dramatically impacted parts of our lives, some specifying that it impacts us socially-- the way in which we perceive situations, as well as the way in which we handle certain situations.


Some people, on the other hand, beg to differ that point of view - believing that technology has led to many advances in various areas of work for our society. They believe technology has allowed us to communicate to more people, communicate more efficiently, as well as extend to many more regions. In the past few decades our country has begun to grow exponentially, and these people believe it is due to the advances that technology is implementing on our society.


I have to say I agree with both.


Where my view fluctuates from the second point of view I mentioned, is when you start discussing the topic of modern day to day technology such as cellphones, tablets/iPhones, laptops and various other hand held technology in the day to day use. Growing up in a period of time where I remember there being no such thing as an "iPhone", to virtually seeing them the second I wake up and the second I go to rest, I see that people (especially people my age) have begun to evolve our lives around our cellphones. Most conversations I have with people are over the phone via messaging, phone calls, emails, social media, etc., and even when I pass most people in the hallway, I resort to my phone so that it's not awkward.



Don't get me wrong though- I do believe modern technology has been very beneficial to us. It has allowed us to form many new connections to various people by creating these gates to almost anyone you need to contact, it has allowed for us to obtain contact with someone or many people way quicker than in the olden days when you had to send letters as your form of "immediate" communication, and it has also allowed us to contact people that live thousands upon thousands miles from us.


In my view, technology has been both beneficial and detrimental, though I feel that in social settings it tends to be more detrimental than in a workplace setting. We should begin to deal with everyday life the way that our parents had to when they were growing up- through the letters and meet ups that they scheduled. It will teach us many things, and I believe that that lifestyle is amazing- you see the whole world instead of a screen! How amazing is that?


118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page