top of page
Search
  • ridereli

The Future (Part 3)

Updated: Dec 7, 2018

The future is unpredictable. For me to say that this is going to happen, or that something else is going to happen, is unachievable, though what I can predict is another story.


With everything that has added to our society today, and everything that it will obtain in the future, makes me ponder the question of "Where will technology take us in the next five years, or ten years, or even fifty years?".


Technology has done us wonders, and for the workplace, I believe that technology will take us very far. It has already brought us so far from where we started as a world, and if we utilize the talented people the world holds, as well as the advancements that technology allows us, then technology itself will aid in us becoming even more efficient, even more open minded, and an even more advanced. It provides us with so many different gates to various news outlets, cultures, political beliefs within these cultures (and without), along with so many others. These gates create a society in which people become more adapt to seeing people that are different than yourself, and they allow us to further our horizons in whatever we choose to apply the technology to- just ensuring that what we apply it to is something progressive.


Though great, technology can also not be such an amazing thing. For example, when applied to day to day use such as cellphones. I think that it has taken away from our ability, collectively as a whole world of people, to deal with various social situations, to meet new people face to face, and to make new memories. It has brought us individually so close to our cellular devices that we block out other stimulus outside of our phones, and I believe that that stimulus, in whatever the situation may be, would do something for us one way or another.




For instance, I was sitting in my room one evening typing up a scholarship essay on my laptop, when I looked up to see three of my four friends sitting on their phones with their homework spread all over the floor around each of them. The one friend of mine that wasn't on her phone was sitting in a ball, crying into her textbook. I set my laptop aside, went to her and asked her what was wrong, trying to comfort her whatever the issue may be. She was telling me, and after she finished explaining, I looked around to see that my other three friends were still on their phones and weren't paying nay attention to the fact that she was crying, or even hearing her cry (nothing against them, it's just part of the story!). In that moment was when I realized that we are all SO sucked until our technology (whatever it may be), that we don't even realize what is happening two feet from us.


And that made me look around the following days, either at the cafeteria, the lecture halls, or even when people are all hanging out in someones room, and see actually how little time we spend "socializing" with our friends when hanging out.


My friends and I were all so caught up in our electronics that we were drowning out the fact that someone was hurt, though they were sitting right before our eyes.....well....the screen was right in front of our eyes.....she was right off to the side, BUT that's not the point. The point is that technology does take away from our everyday life experiences...


And frankly that's the issue!


We focus on one screen, and nothing else. We focus on one instagram post, or one snapchat photo, or one tweet... and not on what really truly matters.


Technology has had many advancements in our society and has had such a positive impact on some aspects of it, though on the other hand, when it's applied to every day use such as a cellphone, it deters from what we should really be focusing on


.........each other.


81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page